The lists of CHRISTMAS TIME

christmas-chokeberry-21Dianne Ross Photo

Following a Christmas-List reality check this week, I came up wanting. I was horrified to accept the fact that it may not be possible to accomplish all of my tasks. Only on Thursday did I begin shopping for gifts . . .

No cards written, addressed, or mailed, but the house is looking fairly festive.

No baking done, but I know where the cookie cutters are.

No gifts wrapped or embellished, but I did find a Tupperware container filled with 8 scotch tape dispensers and a 7 inch strand of wrinkled ribbon. The container was in the cupboard behind the cookie cutters.

Stocking stuffers? No comment. But, I digress . . . BACK TO THE LIST!

And to exterior design. Well, uh,  I don’t have any outdoor lights up yet, either. But it’s on my list.

When I shot this photo in my courtyard, the glitter of the snow was as fresh as my ambition to design my own Christmas cards this year. Talk about excited! Instead, what I did was sprinkle salt (ever so artfully) on the front step and then I scooped the sidewalk.  Exterior design. I ran out of steam and I’m running out of time.

TIME. It also occurred to me that my story might very well be your story. Our holiday lists apparently have no end! So here’s a thought, if you will, and a generous gift to give yourself. It’s the gift of awareness. . . .

To see the beauty of glitter on the snow,

To hear the somber tolling of bells,

Give yourself the gift of TIME . . .

To stop long enough to behold the spirit of the Christmas.

This year give yourself the gift of time for awareness.

(it’s on my list!)

Merry Christmas!

This is a re-post from 4 years ago but it speaks to me today.  After losing two beloved family members this year I would like to add one more thought for the gift  list. . .

This year give yourself the gift of TIME. . .

to cherish those you love.

 Give yourself the gift of awareness for a grateful heart.

Dianne Ross

Interior Designer/Phelan’s Interiors

363-9634

One Response to “The lists of CHRISTMAS TIME”

  1. teri Says:

    great idea…time. Thanks. and have a great holiday.


Leave a Reply

